A Hectic and Rewarding Ending

intro-insegment (1)

As I’ve started packing up, doing exit interviews, and cleaning out my desk, I find myself wondering where this summer went. Because of the Eagle Fellowship, I was able to take on my very first full-time internship at inSegment, a digital marketing agency in Boston, and spending 40 hours per week at work really made the time fly. Working full time was much more of a challenge than I expected—I found myself constantly struggling to find time for even the mundane parts of my life, like meals, laundry, and working out. Since this lifestyle has proven to be a major adjustment, I’m really grateful that I was able to have this experience before I’ve even left college.

I’m of course also grateful for the internship itself and the experiences I’ve had. While I cannot say that I fell in love with B2B marketing, I learned a lot of important lessons during this internship that will be useful to me regardless of the career I choose to pursue. I’ve learned to work with a team and to interact with managers. I’ve become accustomed to learning on the job, and picking up new skills. But the greatest lessons have come during these past few days. Last week, my intern supervisor received a job offer and had to leave inSegment suddenly—leaving just me and my co-intern to basically manage our entire department. All of a sudden, I was flooded with emails and tasks to perform. While it has therefore been a hectic last week, I feel like I’ve grown even more in these past few days than in the weeks preceding it combined. I’ve learned to work efficiently and quickly, to prioritize, and to communicate my problems to my superiors. So, while this week has been the greatest challenge I’ve faced during my internship so far,  I’m leaving inSegment feeling very proud of what I’ve been able to accomplish.

Written by A.V., BC Class of 2017

Leave a Reply

