PRIDEful In What I Learned

cbtIt has been a busy couple of weeks in the office; we finished coding, began entering the data, and started the process of writing an academic paper. Needless to say, we as interns were running around like chickens with our heads cut off. Between trying to keep track of the data, entering it on time, and filing it in the appropriate manner, we also had to travel  around Massachusetts to observe cognitive behavioral therapy groups (CBT) for Roca, whose motto is “Less jail, more future.” We were trained in how the CBT groups should be taught, how to fill out an adherence checklist, and how to take general notes on how the class was conducted. Observing the CBT groups was gratifying, especially since I worked on Roca materials in the spring semester, it was nice to see some of the work I did as a finished product. The best part was, I got to witness how the young men, former inmates, were benefiting from the class -they learned so much from what we gave them.

However, it all made me realize I do not want to become a researcher. I want to be more hands on with my future career; being confined to an office from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. without much interaction with the population I am working with isn’t something I am looking forward to in a future career. I have learned that I want direct contact with those I am aiding, I cannot stay confined to an office all day, and ultimately, I enjoy working with children more. Although, my experience at Community Psychiatry PRIDE has been a learning experience in many aspects, it also made me hone my career path even more.

Written by Alyssa Savery, BC Class of 2017

Leave a Reply

