From BC to Medical School

Though academics have been an important part of my education at Boston College, my extracurricular activities have been the most valuable experiences for me as a pre-medical student. Through my internship at Doylestown Hospital, I have been given the opportunity to provide care for patients, interact with healthcare providers, and shadow numerous procedures. Spending my summer as an intern has allowed me to develop my skills in patient care and understand the work of medical professionals.

My summer internship allowed me to explore my career interests in two main ways:

  • I was able to work alongside physicians in various departments of the hospital, and observe their roles as medical professionals
  • I was able to attend weekly lecture series given by physicians in different specialities, and learn about the specifics of their departments

These experiences allowed me to learn a lot about the realities of going to medical school and becoming a physician. My biggest learning moment came from speaking with an Emergency Room physician, who had to take a non-traditional route to becoming a doctor. After taking the MCAT two times and getting rejected in three rounds of applications, he was finally accepted to attend medical school. Though it took him longer than he intended, he said he wouldn’t change his experience. He told the pre-medical interns:

“No matter what challenges you face, if you have a passion for medicine, you will become a doctor.” 

This further confirmed my interest in medicine, and my desire to become a physician.

As I work to become a doctor, I would like to gain further experience working in a hospital. I am now looking into different administrative and research positions I could work in a hospital during my gap year between medical school. This internship gave me the confirmation I needed to pursue my career as a doctor!

Written by Ashlyn Byers, BC Class of 2017

Leave a Reply

