Eye Opener

Ah, the day you have to put your big girl pants on and go to your big girl job. Though I have had many jobs in the past, this experience was like no other. The experience to work at Massachusetts Eye Research and Surgical Institute (MERSI) with so many intelligent people is one I will always remember. I was able to work hand and hand with doctors, fellows, researchers, NPs, nurses, and many others in a specialized practice in Ophthalmology and Immunology. This internship and the people I worked with have taught me a couple of important things that I will take with me in my future endeavors.

alyssa

  • Don’t let difficulty stop you from following your dreams. Many times I have wanted to give up on my dream of being a doctor/NP, but the doctors at MERSI have taught me that although their journeys were anything but easy, it was all worth it in the end because they are able to do what they love. Whether that be going to medical school right out of undergrad or 20 years later.
  • You don’t always have to be the top dog. Growing up, I always thought I wanted to be a doctor, because one, I have always had a love for medicine and two, growing up we are always taught that doctors and lawyers ran the “it” careers. This internship taught me that this isn’t the case. It’s all about the kind of life you want to live, and everyone is different! After working closely with a nurse practitioner throughout my internship I have learned that being a nurse practitioner is a better route for me, and the quality of life I want.
  • The love of that “ah ha!” moment when all the piles of information that has been thrown at you all comes together. The light bulb went off for me shortly into my internship after being taught what everyone does in the office and protocols and treatment plans. Though the office is a very specialized one in the medical field it is important to know the process of treatment plans, clinical experience, and all the behind the scenes information that I learned at MERSI to take with me to any medical field I chose.

Every experience I go through is a new piece added to my puzzle, and I can officially say that from my experience working at MERSI, I have added many pieces to my self portrait, both eyes included!

Written by Alyssa Montieth, BC Class of 2017

Leave a Reply

