Paving the Way for a Legal Career

law and globe

At the firm’s 35th annual Christmas party in 2003, Mr. Donald Fox, founder of the firm, said, “It is my belief that we in this room do belong to an unusual extended family of professionals, which we joined voluntarily and after reaching the age of reason”. After spending 6 weeks at Fox Horan & Camerini LLP as a paralegal, I cannot deny the accuracy of this statement. 30 days at the firm were enough for me to witness the union of a broad network of talented people, of all ages and ethnicities, coming together to advance a common interest, which, as Mr. Fox stated 13 years ago, is to live greatly in the law. After experiencing what it’s like to work at an international law firm, I am more certain that I want to pursue a legal career, something that requires a constant development of competence, good judgment, and the ability to advance clients’ long term interests consistent with the general interest of a democratic society. This internship, my personal background, and the education I have received at Boston College have made me more confident that becoming a lawyer is among my post graduation plans.

Among the most significant experiences of my internship was my attendance to the New York City Bar Association’s event “Careers in International Law” on July 12th. Panel members made up of influential international law practitioners led a presentation which was followed by small group discussions with the purpose of exploring the challenges and opportunities of international legal careers. The scope of possibilities in specialties such as litigation, corporate, financial, and maritime law, as well as positions in law firms, government, and non-profit work were examined. Additionally, practitioners offered suggestions of practical steps that law students and lawyers can take to make themselves more marketable to potential employers. Participating in this event made me realize how fulfilling and exciting this career path can be.

I will be forever grateful for the opportunity I had of interning at Fox Horan & Camerini. Besides all the academic gains embedded on this experience, I grew as a person and made friendships I will never forget.

Written by Maria Castillo, BC Class of 2017

Leave a Reply

