You Gotta Have PRIDE

unnamed

Monday, October 5th, 2015, I am sitting at my desk in Stayer Hall wondering what I am going to do with my life. I was 20 years old going through a mid life crisis! “What career am I going to have? Do I have a well written resume? I am interested in so many things, what if I choose the wrong one to pursue?” All of these questions were ricocheting around in my head like an uncontrollable rubber bouncy ball. After calmed myself down, I made a decision to pick my most loved class of fall semester, which at the time was research methods and analyses, and find an internship in that field for the spring semester. Hence, my journey began as I became a research intern at Community Psychiatry PRIDE (Program for Research in Implementation and Dissemination of Evidence-Based Treatments).

With the knowledge gained from my research methods class, I had a sufficient background in qualitative and quantitative data. I knew the very basics before my first day in the lab but had to be trained in Dr. Luana Marques’ type of research. I was trained in mixed methods research by a Harvard Catalyst program, cognitive processing therapy (CPT), and became familiar with Dr. Marques’ past and future projects. I gained and am continuing to gain insurmountable knowledge through the multiple training sessions that PRIDE has provided for me that has allowed me to learn a wealth of knowledge.

Since completing my training sessions I have been able to work with Dr. Marques’ current population, which include but not limited to, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) patients and former inmates. I am able to listen and participate in therapy sessions and track changes on if the treatment is effective. I am part of a team who creates and implements treatment programs whose aim is to aid those who need it the most. Listening to how life changing the therapy sessions are for those who participated in them,  makes all the hard work and challenges worthwhile.

Written by Alyssa Savery, BC Class of 2017

Leave a Reply

