A Focus on Boston Youth

A Focus on Boston Youth

The summer is a busy time for the Workforce Development team at State Street. In addition to 400 college interns that swarm the fancy downtown offices, we onboard 130 high school students, exposing them to the financial world. Our partnership with the Private Industry Council interns is seasoned well with professional development, museum days, and volunteer opportunities – what I like to call “Fun Fridays.”

Managing 130 interns on a field day is tricky and it almost makes me feel like a teacher, but it’s also a break from the office. One thing I did not anticipate was the number of events and logistics I would have to prepare in my role. It has opened me to the world of programming and makes my experience with HR even more unique.

At the intersection of Talent Acquisition and Corporate Citizenship, my team is uniquely placed to work like recruiters with social responsibility in mind. My biggest takeaway from this experience is the multitudinous nature and balance of human assets in a company. Developing high school students comes with its challenges and trying to maintain that relationship beyond college becomes even more complicated. The goal is to eventually convert them to full time hires by starting the pipeline early especially for those at a disadvantage, which sounds pretty easy to say, but amounts to a great deal of work with limited resources.

While I am working hard at my job, I am also understanding how my role connects to the larger picture of talent in the company. This summer, I have learned that the realm of Human Resources is vast in depth and breadth. As I listened to a speaker’s presentation about her journey in HR, I was able to appreciate its complexity through the lens of an employee life cycle. At a company like State Street, we have teams upon teams for bringing in talent – Talent Acquisition, teams working on incentives, employee benefits, rewards, career development, internal mobility, etc. The list is long, which means I have a lot more experiential research to do. This internship has opened the door to only one piece of the puzzle.

 

Written by Naz Subah, BC Class of 2017

Leave a Reply

