The Life of an Intern at the Office of the District Attorney’s Office of the Bronx

Kouassi

District Attorney Darcel Clark, speaking at a press conference, earlier this year.

This past month, I’ve had the utmost privilege to intern at the Office of the District Attorney’s Office if the Bronx. Given the fact that I wish to pursue a law degree in the near future, working at this office is providing myself with the tools, to be well equipped for my future endeavors.

The Bronx District Attorney’s Office investigates and prosecutes crime, assists victims, and works with police and the community to implement crime prevention strategies to improve public safety and the quality of life of the Bronx’s residents. As part of the office’s internship program, each intern is placed within a department in the office. My department is the Crime Strategies & Case Enhancement Unit (CSCEU). The Assistant District Attorneys in the unit are assigned to areas in the Bronx, and monitors crime patterns in coordination with the NYPD and develop strategies to reduce crime.

This bureau works with the Community Affairs Unit, the National Guard that has a special program within the state of New York, and the NYPD to focus in on, and reduce, shootings and by concentrating on the violence-prone areas and individuals of the Bronx.

This unit also has certified digital forensic examiners for computers, cell site analysts, social media analysts, and call analysts for Rikers Island calls, in order to secure forensically sound results that can be presented by our personnel to the Court and the Grand Jury.

I have learned so much at my internship, for the short amount of time that I’ve been at my office. If I list all of the things I’ve gotten to see and learn, this blog post would be extremely long. But, the most memorable and most enriching experience for me is overseeing a homicide trial. I’m currently helping two Assistant District Attorneys on a homicide trial, which is something my office unfortunately deals with a lot.  I’m very grateful to have the opportunity to help serve on this trial because it gives me a completely different insight in what lawyers do for the preparation of the trial, the rules and procedures during the trial, and anticipating the final results of the trial. I can tell you one thing, it’s very different from what you see in Law and Order.

Looking back to the first day of my internship, I was extremely nervous about what I was about to get myself into. As of right now, I couldn’t be happier with my internship. I’m very lucky to work in an office that actually wants to help the interns learn and treats everyone as equals.

Written by Brian Kouassi, BC Class of 2017

Leave a Reply

