The Courage to Know

CGSHR

This summer I have the privilege of interning at the Consortium on Gender, Security and Human Rights. A small NGO dedicated to producing gender analysis of armed conflict and peace processes, I was drawn to the Consortium for the same reason I chose to attend Boston College: their passion for social justice. Although my past three years as an Eagle have provided me with academic skills I will undoubtedly utilize during my internship, BC’s commitment to Jesuit ideals is something I have found invaluable to my work at the Consortium thus far.

During my freshman year class “Courage to Know” I learned the history of the Jesuit order, which, prior to Boston College, I knew little about. The Jesuits’ work provided me with several meaningful lessons, but their dedication to education is something that truly inspired me to follow in their footsteps. My work at the Consortium involves accessing top academic research on gender and armed conflict and making it accessible to women across the world by publishing it on the organization’s ResearchHub. By doing so, women from all walks of life can access the tools and resources they need to ensure their safety and further understand their rights.

Although this may not be the typical image of education or social justice, Boston College has taught me these can come in all shapes and sizes. It is this set of Jesuit ideals that will continue to keep me motivated to have the “courage to know” during my internship at the Consortium. It serves as a reminder that every task, whether it is glamorous or task-oriented, is an action to educate and promote justice. I look forward to encompassing these ideals throughout my internship and continuing to learn the meaning of social justice at the Consortium on Gender, Security and Human Rights.

Written by Kathleen Callahan, BC Class of 2017

Leave a Reply

