A Marketing Intern—With No Marketing Experience

insegment (1)

While I consider the skills I have developed as an English major to be highly valuable (research, critical thinking, analysis, writing, etc.), these skills do not put me on a track toward any particular career. That is why I am working as a copywriting intern at inSegment this summer—to explore a potential way that I could translate my English skills into a career.

Because inSegment is a digital marketing agency, I was at first a little intimidated for my internship, as I have no marketing experience. Luckily, I have found over the past two weeks that my English major has more than adequately prepared me for a copywriting job. As a copywriter, I am in charge of writing email copy and subject lines to promote our clients’ assets. These campaigns demand that I write succinctly, but thanks to my background in English, I am skilled at making deliberate, accurate word choices. Some of my other tasks include writing case studies for the company website and articles for the company blog. Both of these tasks require me to do extensive research, another skill that I have refined in my higher-level English classes.

However, it is not only my English major that has helped me succeed at this internship so far. I have also been applying the skills I learned during my experience with the PULSE program two years ago. Because of my PULSE internship, I know how to interact with my supervisors, and that asking questions is really important when settling into a new internship. I know that when I run out of tasks, I should ask around the office and see if anyone else needs my help instead of sitting around passively. I know that I should pay meticulous attention to detail in everything I submit. I feel that my PULSE internship truly has given me an edge over my co-interns. While my work is challenging, I am comfortable at inSegment because of the foundation my education at BC laid in place, and I am looking forward to seeing where the rest of the summer takes me.

Written by A.V., BC Class of 2017

Leave a Reply

